top of page

A Mother's Confession by Kelly Rimmer


Title: A Mother's Confession

Author: Kelly Rimmer

Publication: October 28th, 2016

Publisher: Bookouture

Read: October 25th, 2016


Summary:


'He’s dead and I’m safe, but I’m still scared. Sometimes I actually miss him, but then in the very next breath I find that I hate him so much that I hope there is a hell, just so that he can be suffering like he left me here to suffer.' Olivia and David were the perfect couple with their whole lives in front of them. When beautiful baby daughter Zoe came along, their world seemed complete. But now David is dead and Olivia’s world is in pieces. While she is consumed with grief, her mother-in-law Ivy is also mourning the loss of her son. Both women are hiding secrets about the man they loved. Secrets that have put the family in danger. Something was very wrong in Olivia and David’s marriage. Can Olivia and Ivy break their silence and speak the truth? A mother should protect her child, whatever the cost…shouldn’t she? From the bestselling author of The Secret Daughter and Me Without You comes another emotionally gripping and gut-wrenching read about love, loss and the strength of a mother’s love.


My Review:


Lou's mind stars: ✭✭


A Mother's Confession is a book difficult to review. Firstly, because of the subject it is treating. It is something we hear about all the times in the news and it is written carefully, so on point that it is upsetting. Secondly, this is the combine story of two women, so alike but so different too.


I cannot talk too much about this story without revealing the whole thing so I will just say that I felt for Olivia a lot. What she went through is unimaginable but at last, when pushed into a corner, she got the courage to leave but at which cost... Then, there is Ivy and while I sort of felt bad for her at first, I grew to dislike and even hate her throughout the whole book. She is a despicable woman and sadly, a lot of mothers are like this in such case. But your children are not always the so-called golden boy (or girl).


This book made me quite upset thus the low rating, but I am confident it will find its audience.


*book received from the publisher via Netgalley for an honest review*

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page