top of page

Resistance (Divided Elements #1) by Mikhaeyla Kopievsky


Title: Resistance (Divided Elements #1)

Author: Mikhaeyla Kopievsky

Publication: January 30th, 2017

Publisher: KYRIJA

Read: December th, 2016


Summary:


The Announcer calls my name, but she does not speak to me. This macabre spectacle has nothing to do with me. And everything to do with them. This is all for the thousands below – the compliant citizens of Otpor, the witnesses to my Execution, the silent and transfixed. This is their moment. Their reconditioning. In a future post-apocalyptic Paris, a rebellion threatens to upset the city’s perfectly-structured balance and plunge its citizens into anarchy. Two generations after the Execution of Kane 148 and Otpor’s return to Orthodoxy, forbidden murals are appearing on crumbling concrete walls – calling citizens to action. Calling for Resistance. The murals will change the utopian lives of all citizens. But, for Anaiya 234, they will change who she is. A Peacekeeper of the uncompromising Fire Element, Anaiya free-runs through city’s precincts to enforce the Orthodoxy without hesitation or mercy. Her selection for a high-risk mission gives Otpor the chance it needs to bring down the Resistance and Anaiya the opportunity she craves to erase a shameful legacy. But the mission demands an impossible sacrifice – her identity. ----- With this accomplished debut offering, Kopievsky presents a dark dystopian tale with complex characters, exquisite world-building and high tension. Divided Elements (Book 1) - Resistanceis a welcomed addition to the intelligent speculative fiction tradition of Philip K. Dick, Margaret Atwood and Rupert Thomson.


My Review:


Lou's mind stars: ✭✭✭✭


I was attracted to this book by its cover and for once I was not disappointed. It took me some time to get used to the characters and to warm up to Ani but I am glad I didn't give up on this story because it was really interesting. The set up, the 'ideologies' (although I'm not sure we can use this word to describe them), everything was well-crafted and forces the readers to think of what is right or wrong depending on the point of view they take.


I liked the characters we get to encounter through this book. Some are interesting, some looks nice and some are intriguing while others are despicable. But through the maze of characters, there is one who stood up for me: Kaide. I wish I could read more about him.


The setting is made in a post-apocalyptic Paris and it made things a little easier for me to visualize as I know Paris. The choice of some strategic places in the story are well done. They add a weight to the scenes that take place there.

All in all, it was a good discovery and I'll be waiting for the next installment of the series.


*book received from the author via Netgalley for an honest review*

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page