top of page

The Nightingale - Kristin Hannah




Title: The Nightingale

Author: Kristin Hannah

Publication: February 3rd, 2015

Publisher: St Martin's Press


Summary:


Despite their differences, sisters Vianne and Isabelle have always been close. Younger, bolder Isabelle lives in Paris while Vianne is content with life in the French countryside with her husband Antoine and their daughter. But when the Second World War strikes, Antoine is sent off to fight and Vianne finds herself isolated so Isabelle is sent by their father to help her. As the war progresses, the sisters' relationship and strength are tested. With life changing in unbelievably horrific ways, Vianne and Isabelle will find themselves facing frightening situations and responding in ways they never thought possible as bravery and resistance take different forms in each of their actions.


My Review:


Lou's mind stars: ✭✭✭✭✭


This book is one that will stay with me forever. I am not fond of stories based during war time, somehow two of these books are my favorite now: All the lights we cannot see by Anthony Doerr and now, The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. I literally devoured this book in two days. I just could not let it go for more than a couple of hours. I even cut on my sleep time just so I could read it. I was surprised by the end - who is talking since the beginning - but I won't say more about it not to spoil the surprise. This is a part of my country's history we hear a lot, but rarely from women's point of view. Thank you to the author for writing it, and so beautifully.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page